Medal of Honor – Iwo Jima

Defining a Hero

Jack Lummus - MOH


As  individuals of distinguished courage or ability, duly recognized for valiant service and  heroic qualities,  they  fearlessly  sacrifice  for  a  higher purpose.

First Lieutenant Jack Lummus, Iwo Jima 1945


Awarded posthumously to First Lieutenant Jack Lummus for conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity, at the risk of his own life, above and beyond the call of duty….He gallantly gave his life in the service of his country.

Leader of a Rifle Platoon attached to Company E, 2nd Battalion, 27th Marines, 5th Marine Division, he was killed in action against Japanese forces on Iwo Jima in the Volcano Islands, March 8, 1945, at the age of 29 and the only son of four children.

Living his dream as a member of the NFL’s New York Giants, he had enlisted following the devastating attack on Pearl Harbor.  In a letter to his mother, Lummus’ commanding officer wrote:

Jack suffered very little for he didn’t live long.  I saw Jack soon after he was hit.  With calmness, serenity and complacency, Jack said, ‘The New York Giants lost a good man.’ We all lost a good man.


Jack Lummus-NFL NY Giants-2


His citation for heroic actions may be viewed  at  the National Medal of Honor Museum of Military History,  Jack Lummus, MOH, and reads as follows:


The President of the United States takes pride in presenting the MEDAL OF HONOR posthumously to


                                                For service as set forth in the following


MOH Citation-1MOH Citation-2

(signed) Harry S. Truman


Medal of Honor-3

         Congressional Medal of Honor

The highest award for valor in action against an enemy force, bestowed upon an individual serving in the Armed Services of the United States.  Awarded to its recipient by the President in the name of Congress, it is commonly a posthumous medal presented to those who have distinguished themselves at the risk of their own life and above and beyond the call of duty.

Created by a Resolution signed into law by President Lincoln on December 21, 1861, the first Medals of Honor were presented over 150 years ago, March 25, 1863, to soldiers during the Civil War.  The President, in the name of Congress, has awarded more than 3,400 Medals of Honor to our nation’s bravest Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen since the decoration’s creation.

U.S. Fifth Marine Division Cemetery
Iwo Jima, 1945


In Profound Gratitude

for their Commitment and Sacrifice on our Behalf


About Karen Evans

Advocate For Honoring Military Service
This entry was posted in American History, American Veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Medal of Honor – Iwo Jima

  1. gpcox says:

    He will now be remembered!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s